Dropbox mystery solved
Two days back, I noticed a lot of my files on Dropbox went missing. I went on a “ranting” spree…
Dropbox support actually reached out to me and shared that I could actually recover deleted files.
Wow! That is one Dropbox feature that I was not aware of. But, I have some other issues that prevented me from being able to restore the files.
Anyway, I also found out there is a transaction log, and yes… Found the “culprit” who deleted my files.
Dropbox recently made some changes to file sharing. “Free” users are not no longer able to set the permissions when they share out files and folders. In the past, we could determine the type of access the person we’re sharing the folder with would have — whether they can only read the folder, or they can also edit them. But after the change, whenever a “free” user shares a folder, the permission is set to allow edit. Free users cannot set the permission to only read.
I had shared a few folders with my brother and he was doing some “spring cleaning” a few weeks back. He thought the shared files would take up his Dropbox space, so he went and deleted them…
Luckily for me, I have copies of the files stored elsewhere. <-- backup and backup your files! 🙂
Kudos to Dropbox support for their very prompt reply (via Twitter!). 🙂